Front foot in combat position – The Self Defense Company

Front foot in combat position

Home Forums Welcome to the Legion! Front foot in combat position

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

Hi guys, so I’ve posted a question on your facebook yesterday, and i was adviced to post here.

So here was my questions :
      “I’ve started training the modules for a moment now, but a question has blocked me.
      What foot is best to put in front ?
      I’m right-handed, and i know that usually in most fighting styles, i should put my left foot in front.

But in your videos, Damian is most of the time with the right foot in front. Is he left or right handed ?
      And what do you think would be the best ?”

To what you replied :
      “Generally you lead with speed and follow with power, right? but let me ask you…which FEELS better?”

So the fact is that right foot feels better, but maybe that’s because i started training with the right in front ?
      Also, a guess my right arm is the most powerfull, so wouldn’t it be better to start with my left arm (speed) and then follow with the right arm (power), so with the left arm (and so left foot) in front ?

Last, I’m french, so sorry if my spelling isn’t right =)

Michael you’re English is perfect….you DON’T want to see my French.

Anyway – it seriously depends on you working through the combinations. This is why you train.

I lead with my left foot and clean house with my right.

I also box, kick box this way. But….

I fight Judo Lefty
      I wrestle Lefty
      I surf…(you guessed it) Lefty
      And I write lefty but…I throw and bat righty.

So what does that mean???

Nothing. No – just kidding.

Train each side there is NO WRONG ANSWER.

Fact is when you’re placed in a stressful situation, you’re going to go where you should go.

So let’s do this.

Just stand in front of your dummy and establish distance and drop a foot back as fast as you can.

There’s your answer.